Randolph County, Arkansas


Circuit Court

     Circuit Courts are established as the trial courts of original jurisdiction  of all justiciable matters not otherwise assigned pursuant to this Constitution. Subject to the superintending control of the Supreme Court, the Judges of a Circuit Court may divide that Circuit Court into subject matter divisions, and any Circuit Judge within the Circuit may sit in any division. Circuit Judges may temporarily exchange circuits by joint order. Any Circuit Judge who consents maybe assigned to another circuit for temporary service under rules adopted by the Supreme Court.


  • Harold Erwin - Division 1
  • Phil Smith - Division 2
  • Kevin King - Division 3

DIstrict Court

     District Courts are established as the trial courts of limited jurisdiction as to amount and subject matter, subject to the right of appeal to Circuit Courts for a trial de novo. Teh jurisdictional amount and the subject matter of civil cases that may be heard in the District Courts shall be established by Supreme Court rule. Distric Courts shall have original jurisdiction, concurrent with Circuit Courts, of misdemeanors, and shall also have such other criminal jurisdiction as may be provided pursuant to Section 10 of this Amendment. There shall be at least one District Court in each county. If there is only on e District Court in a county, it shall have county-wide jurisdiction. Fines and penalties received by the District Court shall continue to be distributed in the manner provided by current law, unless and until the General Assembly shall establish a new method of distribution. A District Judge may serve in one or more counties. Subject to the superintending control of the Supreme Court, the Judges of a District Court may divide that District Court into subject matter divisions, and any District Judge within the district may sit in any division.


  • John Throesch

Quorum Court (County Court)

The legislative body of county government is called the quorum court and is composed of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. The quorum court members are called justices of the peace and are elected for two-year terms from districts within the county. These district officials meet each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The county judge is the presiding officer over the quorum court without a vote, but with the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court. (See generally ACA 14-14-801 et seq and 14-14-901 et seq.) As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, a county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislative authority not expressly prohibited by the Constitution or by law for the affairs of the county (ACA 14-14-801). Some limitations are: The quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code); quorum courts may not participate in the day-to-day administration of county executive branch offices and exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (ACA 14-14-806). The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to: A) the levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law; B) appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance; C) preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony; D) for any public purpose, contract, or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States; E) create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action; F) fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees; G) fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law; H) fill vacancies in elected county offices; I) provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs; J) to exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and functions (ACA 14-14-801).

Justices of the Peace:

  1. Sherley Johnson
  2. Henry Dust
  3. Bill Harper
  4. Keith Sutton
  5. Doris Sharp
  6. Steve Fernimen
  7. Dale Morris
  8. Carl Wells
  9. James Ward